Voice of the People


It is a common statement in any country. The voice of the people is the voice of God. Vox Populi Vox Dei.

I have read a lot of essays and columns about making the people the first priority in terms of governance. Most of which I’ve read were from Conrado De Quiros, a political pundit writing for Philippine Daily Inquirer. His columns touched the deepest of my gut and the marrows of my soul, as he always put it. They made my heart stop beating for a second. The entirety of every message raises my sense of righteousness into a higher level. It simply awakens my common sense. His message will keep you awake at night. It will liberate your mind and change your whole perspective in life.

What De Quiros always give importance to is the people, the Filipino people. He always has great compassion to the masses to the point of criticizing the government of its morals and the responsibility to lead the people.

Everytime I read De Quiros’s columns on Inquirer and past collection of essays Flowers From the Rubble I think about the people I see everyday. I see them roaming the streets with doubtful faces and ragged clothes, kids with no slippers begging for loose change, a family of five who lives next door to my room, people like me who are trying their luck in a far away land. They are everywhere. It makes me think about their lives. I know they have stories to tell that most of us don’t want to hear about, not even the leaders and politicians who have certain obligations with them.

Seeing these people and contemplating about them makes me wonder who is responsible with their fate. Why people are born poor and will always live as poor? I also think about the wealthy and the fortunate ones who have such class when they get out of their luxury cars near an expensive restaurant. How did they acquire those riches? Were they born rich? Or is the status that they’re in the outcome of hardwork?

Despite De Quiros’s always logically points out that the people are the ones who should be benefited from the country’s resources, he also tries to wake them up from their shortcomings. This is why I wonder why poor people allow themselves to live in their state. Is it the fault of the government? Or is it the people’s who have the power to govern their lives?

You can think both ways. You can think the people themselves are to be blamed. It is not the world and God that makes them suffer from their grim lot. It is us and within us that make our lives. You can also think that the government is the one responsible for the fate of the poor people; which brings us to the question: what the hell is wrong with Filipinos?

It’s the mystery that lies behind the realities of poverty. It is perhaps one fact of life that reminds us that God really works in mysterious ways. Maybe God speaks through the destitute and the weak. Maybe it is His voice that echoes in the conscience of men and forever rings and begging to be heard.



4 thoughts on “Voice of the People”

  1. I have also wondered why people are poor. I hate the suffering of innocent people caused by poverty. I deal with it like this: I look at my corner of the world and fix everything wrong in it. My hand is always out to those in need.
    if each of us took care of our little corner of the world, I believe things would be better.

  2. Noy, when God created us, he didn’t hesitate to give us our brain to use the way we want by our own choice. So if we choose to be good, we will be, if we choose to be poor, so be it. Resources that He made abundant in nature are at our dispensation. But “:greed” reigns among the people. The weak become weakened, the strong become strong and powerful. Who are we to blame but ourselves? I thank God for what I have, but pity those who don’t have what they deserve. Nice thoughts, again. Love your line of thinking- as always.

Leave a Reply

